Italian Fulbright Scholarship Program

Starting in 2019, ICSI will be hosting a Fulbright scholar from Italy annually. Candidates interested in applying for the scholarship must be Italian citizens with research positions at Italian universities who have received their Ph.D. from Italian institutions within the last three years.

Three ICSI Board of Trustees Members Elected to AAAS

ICSI Board of Trustees members Ronald Brachman, C. Raymond Perrault, and Katherine Yelick have been elected AAAS Fellows for 2018, in the Section on Information, Computing, and Communication. AAAS announced the names of the 2018 Fellows on November 27, and they will be honored at the 2019 AAAS annual meeting on February 16, 2019.

Networking and Security Researchers Win Distinguished Paper Award at IMC 2018

ICSI Networking and Security researchers Johanna Amann and Narseo Vallina-Rodriguez and former ICSI interns and co-authors Abbas Razaghpanah and Platon Kotzias won the Distinguished Paper Award for their work on "Coming of Age: A Longitudinal Study of TLS Deployment" at the ACM IMC 2018 

Deborah Estrin Named 2018 MacArthur Fellow

Former ICSI board member Deborah Estrin was named a 2018 MacArthur Fellow. Each year, the MacArthur Foundation gives "extraordinarily talented and creative individuals" a gift of $625,000 with no strings attached. Estrin was selected as one of this year's recipients for "designing open-source platforms that leverage mobile devices and data to address socio-technological challenges such as personal health management."

New Science of Security Lablet at ICSI

The International Computer Science Institute (ICSI) in Berkeley, CA is the home to one of six new NSA-funded lablets focused on security and privacy research over the next five years.

Scott Shenker Receives 2017 ACM Paris Kanellakis Award

Scott Shenker

ACM announced the winners of four prestigious awards, and ICSI's Chief Scientist Scott Shenker is the receipient of the 2017 ACM Paris Kanallakis Theory and Practice Award.

David Patterson Wins Turing Award

Dave PattersonBoard member emeritus and retired UC Berkeley Professor David Patterson has been awarded the 2017 ACM A.M. Turing Award along with John L. Hennessy, former President of Stanford University.